Can I fly off center on a Victor airway?

flyzone

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Flyzone
I am a new IFR pilot flying a single engine Piper with steam gauges (ILS, VOR, DME) and no IFR GPS. I plan a trip from the northeast to Florida via V1. Below TYBEE the airway gets a bit distant from the shoreline and I prefer to be closer to the shoreline for safety. I know I can fly a bit inland on another airway but the shoreline route is much more interesting and keeps me awake :)

Can I fly a few miles right of course (say, 3) to nudge the shoreline without causing grief for anybody? I know the airway is 4 miles on each side of the center line so it seems that technically it would be ok. Is there any rule about flying the center line if you are able?

Should be no issue at all. If you want to fly more than 4 miles off center just ask ATC

A controller once asked me to fly on the center line of an airway. Apparently he was unaware that VOR receivers are allowed to be off by as much as four or six degrees (depending on how they're checked). My CDI said I was already on the center line, so I offset the OBS a little to make him happy.

Airways are 4nm from either side for obstacle clearance purposes. ATC still expects you to fly down the center of it. If you want to deviate from the clearance, tell ATC what you want to do. Just be prepared to hold, change altitude, vectored, etc. if ATC cannot accommodate. Always have a plan B (and C and D for that matter).

A controller once asked me to fly on the center line of an airway. Apparently he was unaware that VOR receivers are allowed to be off by as much as four or six degrees (depending on how they're checked). My CDI said I was already on the center line, so I offset the OBS a little to make him happy.

Controllers these days are spoiled by GPS, which puts everybody smack dab on the centerline (for better or worse).

V1 CHS SAV V37 CRG Keeps you over land and you can see plenty of shore line.