Can HTML do this?

gkainz

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Greg Kainz
I want to make some Unix log files visible via a browser. I can't change anything in the Apache httpd.conf file since I'm piggy-backing on an apps server that's got other purposes (does that make me a parasite or a virus?) :)

First, without making an entry in the .conf file to allow a directory to be browseable, is there any way to dynamically list the contents of the directory as clickable links?

Second, is there any way to convert the unix LF to windoze displayable CR/LF via href command or other trick on the fly, so the logfile displays correctly? Currently it opens in Windoze notepad and doesn't handle the new line correctly.

Thanks.

You can't use a script?

It could be done with a one line perl or PHP script

I'm a DBA, not a coder ... perl does exist on this box - perhaps I could slip it in unnoticed. Got an example? :)

I'm a DBA, not a coder ... perl does exist on this box - perhaps I could slip it in unnoticed. Got an example? :)

Click on the source code link toward the bottom of the page here:
http://www.perl.com/pub/a/2000/11/begperl3.html

It's more than you need but you'll see how it's done.

The previous chapters give some perl basics. Coverting LFs is a trivial exercise you'll see in the early chapters

Put your .pl file in the www/cgi directory and it should work when called as

Code:
http://www.server.com/cgi/myscript.pl

...provided CGI is not disabled on the web server.

As long as you don't take ANY input from the user you shouldn't have any security concerns. Once you allow a client to give you anything and work on that you have to get concerned with someone using that for no good.

Now Jesse will post it in a PHP one liner. :rolleyes:

Last edited:
Thanks!!! I'll have to check if cgi is disabled on this Apache server ... I do see a mod_perl that's enabled...