Can a club build a home-built?

PilotGreg

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
PilotGreg
Hello,

I was wondering if a club could legally license a home built aircraft such as the Sonex if everyone pitched in to construct it? Technically it is not then built 51% by one person correct? Would a club be able to license a Sonex as a LSA rather then experimental and avoid this? Sorry for all the questions but any insight you may have to the licensing procedure in this regard would be very helpful!

Thanks!
Greg

Hello,

I was wondering if a club could legally license a home built aircraft such as the Sonex if everyone pitched in to construct it? Technically it is not then built 51% by one person correct? Would a club be able to license a Sonex as a LSA rather then experimental and avoid this? Sorry for all the questions but any insight you may have to the licensing procedure in this regard would be very helpful!

Thanks!
Greg

Welcome to POA.

I'm not an expert, so I could be wrong. But I think that any amateur-built aircraft must be registered as an experimental, which would probably create all manner of problems for your club.

-Rich

Hello,

Thanks!
Greg

the short answer is yes, school classes do it all the time, but only one person gets the repairman's certificate for that aircraft.

Well, clearly it can be done...

But it'd be a good idea to make sure the bird you build is easy to fly. You should also make sure they are good pilots, or you might have problems like this and we'll end up talking about you.

So yes, it can be done... But tread carefully.

PS - It's not entirely clear what the status of the club is. Their web site is still operational, but it also still lists the crashed plane and the dead guy with no note of the accident and no apparent changes to anything on the site since before the accident which was almost 2 years ago. But, I would imagine it's hard to come back from something like that.

Hello,