Buying a single engine plane

lavink

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
ken.lavin
I have been surfing the internet for years trying to figure out what airplane is right for me. I mostly feel that a Cessna 182 would fit me perfect but I don't want to out grow it shortly after I buy it.

I have been flying single engine since 1996 and have been a flight engineer since 1999, so I have some experience but not a lot of PIC. I have my A&P but not a lot of GA experience either.

I love the convenience of GA flying it is almost as good as military flying, so I want a reliable type aircraft. Any help or comments are appreciated.
Ken

A 182 is a great ride with decent speed and can carry a good load. Fuel burn is a little high for the speed but not horrible. A good comparable aircraft would be a Cherokee 235.

Does you typical mission require the load carrying of the 182? A good one can be a bit pricey.

A 182 is a great ride with decent speed and can carry a good load. Fuel burn is a little high for the speed but not horrible. A good comparable aircraft would be a Cherokee 235.

Does you typical mission require the load carrying of the 182? A good one can be a bit pricey.

Just look at what you will be doing the majority of the time. Remember that most people end up flying by themselves or 1 other person 95% of the time. You may be the exception, but you don't want to buy a lot of plane to carry no passengers.

Just look at what you will be doing the majority of the time. Remember that most people end up flying by themselves or 1 other person 95% of the time. You may be the exception, but you don't want to buy a lot of plane to carry no passengers.

A two seater for 95% of your flights, and rent a 4 seater when you need it. :dunno: