Business Software - Small/Medium

S

SJP

A friend of mine is the IT Boss in a medium sized manufacturing company. They have recently moved from a home-grown, bits-and-pieces network to a completely integrated, managed and consistent setup with centralized, backed up, secure servers and proper user authentication etc etc. They are very happy with the new setup, and have decided that this is the right time to replace their in house back office system, currently based on Alpha 5.

The current system does purchasing, inventory management, billing, order tracking and pretty much everything else - and I have no real experience in these sort of systems. If anyone has any information on possible packages or suites, please let me know. They are really looking for something that could grow with them, so probably Oracle or SQL Server backend. Predominantly a Windows environment, but that isn't a concrete thing.

Thanks !!!

How to handle this is a function of company size. If greater than $100 m or so, and growing, it's worth it to do a requirements analysis and send out an RFP to the major companies. With appropriate cooperation amongst the departments, you probably don't need a consultant to define requirements (implementation is a different matter).

I've seen a couple of these through the process, leading a Lawson implementation and approving/oversight of a Peoplesoft system (prior to Oracle acquisition). Other options include Oracle, MAS and Great Plains. You really do want to do a needs analysis - when I last looked MAS seems to have a better set of modules for inventory/manufacturing companies but wasn't so good for "services" based companies, Peoplesoft couldn't handle real estate assets well. Etc. Etc.

Figure out what you need, then find a system to fit, as opposed to vice-versa.

wsuffa said:
Figure out what you need, then find a system to fit, as opposed to vice-versa.

Wha?? Geez, Bill, I thought you were a professional. :rolleyes: