Breakdown of Private Pilots by Profession/Background? Any Data?

AirDC

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Andrew
Hi there -

Does anyone happen to know if there is data out there to show what professions tend to gravitate towards getting their private pilots license? I thought I remembered having to give my occupation during my check-ride application.

Looking for a chart like 20% business executives, 20% lawyers, 20% doctors, 20% Real Estate Developers, 10% students, 5% self-employed, 5% models, etc. Just making arbitrary numbers up - looking for some hard data for research purposes and couldn't find anything online.

Send any links you might be able to share. Thanks!

Thanks!

Drew

I would think professional pilot would pretty much be 100% in terms of a profession that has has pilots among its ranks.

I see what you did there. I guess I'm looking for more along the lines of data with just Private/IFR rating which would not include those making money from aviation (flight instructors, airline pilots, etc). Although I know many other non-professionals get the ratings for one reason or another.

If 5% were models then I think the others would increase by 200% so they could hang out around the models.

If 5% were models then I think the others would increase by 200% so they could hang out around the models.

You just described Hollywood's business model. ;)

I heard today that the number of Performing Arts majors graduating from colleges is larger than Civil Engineering, Math, and Science Majors combined.

(The so called "STEM" disciplines, apparently minus computers and Electrical Engineering, as best as I could tell. It was an odd statistic in that it limited itself to Civil Engineering, but even though my statistical bull**** meter was blaring, it's still pretty shocking, nonetheless.)

And the President is coming to my town tomorrow to explain a new system of managing Student Loan debt. This will be good.