Bought A Logbook Today

livitup

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
livitup
This might not seem like much of an aviation milestone to most of you, but for me it's a big deal...

Aviation has been in my blood since I was born. My dad was a Pilot Captain in the USAF, and after leaving the military had a 20+ year career with the FAA (on the airport side, not the licensing or aircraft side, so put down your pitchforks! :)). While he never pursued his own PP license (he said he flew enough in the military for a lifetime), he still instilled a love of aviation in me.

I've lusted at the skies for decades, but either financial or nervous spouse issues have kept me grounded. So I've been a habitual ground-bound student - I've read PPSEL textbooks, watched video training, lurked in forums, and flown the heck out of FSX, anything cheap to keep me feeling connected to flight, but never took to the skies. But thank God for Groupon, I snagged a cheap discovery flight at a local airport, with her blessing. Expecting the usual response, I said (half joking) "you know if I get a logbook, the hour would count towards my PPSEL..." In response, I got a resigned "Go ahead..."

Hardly believing my ears, I asked her if she realized what she was agreeing to. We have the cash, but her steadfast belief that single-engine planes are just barely airborne death traps had led me to stop asking years ago.

Long story short, she agreed that she was finally comfortable with the idea, and gave me her blessing to go for it and chase the dream. So this morning I ordered a logbook from Amazon, so that when I go for the discovery flight, it will be my first logged instructional hour.

Can you tell I'm a little excited? :goofy:

I just wanted to post this to get it off my chest, and as a bit of an introduction, since I'll probably start participating here a bit more. :)

Glad to hear you finally got the green light. Welcome aboard.