Bose A20 static issue with plug adapter

JustinB57

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
JustinB57
Hi everyone,

I'm very new to aviation and got very lucky to find someone willing to trade a Bose A20 headset for Paintball equipment. The headset was military surplus and turned out to have the U174 helicopter plug. After buying an adapter to convert to dual GA plugs, and finding out it didn't work, I consulted Bose. They said I needed an adapter that converted impedance in addition to the plugs. They recommended this specific adapter, so I purchased it: http://www.mypilotstore.com/MyPilotStore/sep/1979

During a flight for an event held by a local EAA chapter I used the headset with the adapter in a Cirrus SR22. The problem was that the mic kept activating for very short bursts repeatedly every couple seconds and there was some static. It wasn't terrible, but it was noticeable and slightly annoying.

Then, recently I used the headset with the same adapter on my friend's Cessna 172 skyhawk and had the same issue. Turning the squelch way up did seem to help, but of course that made it so I eventually had to yell to talk in the microphone.

I'm curious if anyone knows whether this is an issue with the headset itself, the adapter, or something else. Would buying an entire new cable made by bose with the correct plugs help?

Thanks in advance!

- Justin

To know for sure if the mic has a problem, you’d need to test it properly. How to do that is probably beyond the scope of a post here.

“Static” *usually* isn’t something a mic creates. Usually static is wind noise or other crap being picked up by the mic.

As you mentioned, turning your intercom squelch up is the usual way to deal with that, for any headset. Or move the mic away from your lips and out of any air stream blowing from a vent.