Best So Cal Airport?

VWGhiaBob

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
VWGhiaBob
:D Hi Members...first post! :D

After over 25 years, it's time to start flying again! I got my private license the day I was old enough. Then I became a teacher...no money. Then I got an MBA...no time. Now, I finally have the money and time. May even buy a plane (thinking of Piper Warrior or Seneca).

Question...Where's the best place to learn in So. Cal? I live in Hollywood Hills. I've explored...

* Whiteman - Fine, but not much scenery close, and planes at Vista Aviation look a little bit "been there done that" (one had rust on the spar).

* Van Nuys - Good, but lots of trafffic.

* Burbank - Is this even an option with the jets?

* Long Beach - ????

* Hawthorne?

* Santa Monica?

Any thoughts would be appreciated!

Like to hear as well good places to rent for quick trips when I am there from nj

From the hollywood hills, I'd think you would want the minimum drive-time possible. I'd assume this favors VNY or BUR strongly, then SMO as a very distant third.

You might throw EMT into the mix -- the drive may actually be better than all 3 :)

I base at HHR, it's flavorless, even less flavor than WHP. For being an airport surrounded by so much soul food, it's pretty damn whitebread and stuck-up.

Rumor is that SMO will be "gone daddy gone" very soon when their FAA protection runs out.

I can't imagine any "short list" of planes including both a warrior AND a seneca -- two very different contraptions, those. :) I hope you'll try them out before just taking the plunge.

If you get bored one of these days, I'm happy to take folks flying around LA to show it's not scary. We have the friendliest controllers in the country I think.

$0.02

- Mike

Of the airports you listed, I would say Van Nuys is your best bet.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

I would also think that the drive to EMT might be better -