Best ride in turbulence: Single engine

Alexb2000

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
Alexb2000
I am a veteran of many bone jarring trips across the dessert southwest in summer thermals, mountain wave, mountain turbulence, etc. Not as much as someone based in Denver or Owens valley, but I've certainly my share. It wears me out and screaming passengers are never fun.

So I was wondering, what single piston engine aircraft rides the best in turbulence (No twins or turbines, because the range of operating weights is just too great for a meaningful comparison)?

Darn, you took away all the planes I knew anything about. :)

I can tell you the answer is definitely not Mooney.

I've been beat like a borrowed mule in almost all of them at one time or another. When one of those ball-peen hammer turbulence days comes along, ain't no little airplanes that can compete.

[/I]

I don't have any experience with the higher gross weight singles which I expect to ride better. That said, the 'kota does a better job than a 172. Of course "better" is a relative term since the 'kota tends to wallow around rather than give the sharp jolts of the 172.

The answer is not Cessna 320 either. :) The 206 was much better in turbulence. The 320 had a strange rolling, yawing motion.

Turbocharged ANY single.
The rough air ends at 15-16,000.
Buy a good, LARGE, oxygen system. This adjustment was necessary to the success of GA as a family mobility tool.

I've been beat like a borrowed mule in almost all of them at one time or another. When one of those ball-peen hammer turbulence days comes along, ain't no little airplanes that can compete.

No doubt. But some deal with it better than others.

The answer is not Cessna 320 either. :) The 206 was much better in turbulence. The 320 had a strange rolling, yawing motion.

It's interesting that I've heard that as a complaint and I've noticed it, but it never has bothered me in the 310. I would believe the 206 to handle turbulence better, though.