Beech baron 55. Training for a big guy.

philly3229

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
phillyman
hello all! I am a 26 year old pilot with my instrument rating. All my training has been done in a C172. I am considering starting my commercial multi in a beech baron 55. I am wondering if anyone has experience in this plane and would be willing to share how comfortable the cockpit is for a larger guy compared to a c172. I am about 240lbs and 6 ft tall. I have looked up the width of the be55 and know it is only a few inches wider than the c172 but was hoping to get some first hand opinions. Is it comfortable enough for myself and a CFI? This is really a big decision for me. A lot of money and I really would like to know if the cockpit is wide enough for myself and the CFI to be comfortable (relatively) while I do this training. Not the biggest fan of the idea of entering the plane through one door either.

Thanks so much !!

sometimes the shape of the plane has a lot to do with the interior feel even if the width is technically wider or narrower, my 182 is narrower than some planes I've sat in yet I feel I have more space in it, and vice versa, I'd recommend getting in one before going forth with it! I have a friend who has G58 baron, and he is about 6"5 and probably in the 240-260 range and he looks more than comfy in in the plane.

I was twin shopping recently and tried the B58 (stretched B55) No way. I am 200lbs and 6'1" and I couldn't even sit straight in the left seat without hitting my head against the window frame and rubbing my head against the headliner. On top of that the cockpit is very narrow. Bumped elbows with the other pilot. They are nice looking planes and quick but for small framed pilots.
I ended up buying a Cessna 310. Good wide cockpit while retaining reasonable performance numbers.

Recommend a short flight, or at least sit in one, before you make up your mind.