Because we haven't quite beaten headset questions to death yet...

DaleB

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
DaleB
I've been using a DC H10-13.4s since I started training. They're... OK. Comfortable enough for the first couple of hours, unless I'm wearing my regular glasses. My super-duper pilot shades have thin, flexible temples; my old fart bifocal regular glasses have much stiffer temples, and I end up wearing them a lot so I can see things like the teeny little GPS screen.

But now I need to pick up some additional headsets, one set at least for my lovely bride. I'm torn. I could drop close to 2 AMU for two pair of Zulu.2s, but we wouldn't be able to listen to the same tunes without an additional portable intercom. BluLink won't let us share music or the phone. Arrgh. Oh well. Anyway, what I'm considering:

1. Keep the H10-13.4s and install an ANR kit from Headsets, Inc. Buy Wifey some Pilot USA or SoftComm ANR cans.
  2. Buy a Zulu.2 and let Wifey use the DCs, probably with an ANR kit installed.
  3. Buy two pair of Zulu.2s. The bank probably won't miss that mortgage payment, will they?
Any of the above are viable choices. What I really want to know, from people who have tried at least a couple of these, how do they rate for noise reduction compared to each other? On a scale of 1 to 10... with no headset being zero, and the engine off being a 10... where would you rate a non-ANR DC headset, a low-end SoftComm or Pilot USA ANR headset, the DC with a headsets Inc. ANR kit installed, and a Zulu 2?

And how big a difference is there, really, between a Zulu and a Zulu.2?

I'm tentatively rating the non-ANR equipped DCs I have been using at about a 3 for noise reduction. They're not that quiet, they just make ATC and pax louder than the O-320 and prop racket.

The difference between ANR and non-ANR is astonishing, and even more important, monumental when it comes to protecting your hearing. For that reason, I view any non-ANR headset as unacceptable.