Barron Thomas has paid the zeilers $276,000 to date

If I send you a copy of a newspaper article with "FYI, looks like Acme Products' new widget has made the news" where's the breach? Let's say I go so far as to underline the information in the article that was provided to me in confidence, but you obviously don't know I have been provided under terms of the NDA.

Hmmmm-I've been told the opposite. Even though reported in the newspapers (or on the internet), it doesn't make it correct information.

I'm no lawyer...and I'm probably wrong here. I've never been burned keeping secrets, even though they are "public".

If I send you a copy of a newspaper article with "FYI, looks like Acme Products' new widget has made the news" where's the breach? Let's say I go so far as to underline the information in the article that was provided to me in confidence, but you obviously don't know I have been provided under terms of the NDA.
No breach for me....possibly for for the person that sent me the article.

Seems that If I know that the person that sent me the information could have knowledge of whatever is going on, they are confirming a rumor.

I'll say it is at least a gray area...and I have never had a problem from maintaining secrets entrusted to me, even if they were leaked by others.

As I said- I'm no lawyer, and I may well be wrong on this issue.

Typical confidentiality agreement, at least any which I'd allow my client to sign, would exclude from its restrictive provisions any information which is in or enters the public domain by means other than my client's improper disclosure.

It would be nuts to agree you could be punished for discussing something which is legitimately in the public domain.

Exactly the advice we received--and followed. It was usually a moot point anyway, since the NDA information on most IB deals wasn't something I would talk about anyway, and our policy was to forget everything we learned about a deal before we left the due dil meeting.