Auto Shops are Always Honest... Right?

Nice.

Very nice.

tell me about it. I haven't even come close to the mileage for a fuel filter change and every time I go in they want to change it - for 500 bucks! when I asked why it was so expensive they told me there were 3 clamps on it. (they must need that special Mercedes clamp remover).

I'm tempted to send them a photo of my next new car - from another dealership.

A while back there was the thread on experiences in customer service at car dealers and other shops. I had this sent to me about a TV station's investigation into the most popular oil change place around. It's shocking and sad... and criminal. :mad:

I do all my own maint work on my cars, a pain to lay in the driveway once in a while and do it, yes. But, I know my skills and know the job is done right, and all it costs me is an afternoon and parts.

I've been owning cars for 21 years now, and I can count on one hand the times I've taken cars to "professiona" mechanics. I really believe one of the best ways of ensuring a long, dependable, and low mx cost life on a vehicle is to keep it as far away as you can from "professional" mechanics.

jiffy lube always wants to know if i want to change my air filter. "its getting a little dirty" well it must be filtering then! put the damn thing back on its working.

jiffy lube always wants to know if i want to change my air filter. "its getting a little dirty" well it must be filtering then! put the damn thing back on its working.

lmfao....

BTDT and hate it when I'm the one that put the new part in just a few days previously.

I do all the maintenance I can do. Shops are for transmissions and stuff I simply don't have the tools or place to do the work myself.

Mechanics are becoming very rare. They take 3 minutes to look at systems and figure out the problem then fix it. Technicians are all over the place. They simply take a wild guess and start firing the parts cannon at things until the problem appears to go away.