Aspen PFD 1000 Pro

Discussion in 'Avionics and Upgrades' started by Jay Sparks, Jan 20, 2023.

  1. Jay Sparks

    Jay Sparks Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2021
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Lewisburg WV

    Display name:
    Flyboy61P
    Have a question for the pro’s

    I would love to install a used Aspen Pro PFD 1000 in my plane, but….I am being told in order to do that, I hafta have a letter of authorization from Aspen, the unit’s hafta be sent to them to be re-certified, the RSM replaced with a new one, and purchase the letter to use the STC.
    The alternative, is if the system was yellow tagged “working when removed” then an authorized Aspen dealer is allowed to install and re-certify the unit, WITHOUT the requirement to purchase a new RSM. Sounds to me Aspen is far worse than Garmin or S-etc ever thot about being on re-installing used avionic’s.
    If this is true, the one’s being sold on EBay or Barnstormer’s is a SOL,situation.
    Any thot’s?
     
  2. Bell206

    Bell206 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Messages:
    6,738

    Display name:
    Bell206
    Told by who? In general, the requirements to install any used avionics falls to the installer. Now each installer may have additional requirements based on what type entity they are; independent APIA, CRS, etc. The only time you need OEM blessing to install the item is if you are using their data to install it. However, if the installation you plan to accomplish with the Pro 1000 PDF is considered a major alteration it usually is cheaper to pay for the OEM permission/data than pay to obtain your own separate approved data. But not in all cases. That said, there are several FAA Policy memos out there that allow certain instrument functions to be installed as a minor which requires no additional input from the OEM.
     
  3. ChopAndDrop

    ChopAndDrop Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    USA SouthEast

    Display name:
    ChopAndDrop
    have you priced this out vs replacing your AI/HSI with the Garmin digital units?
    At the risk of making this a “Ford vs Chevy” debate, I’ll tell you I have an Aspen Pro in my plane and I love flying with it, but… modern options from Garmin have eclipsed it. More flexible install options, dual screen revision, etc.
    My friend in Next-door hangar installed dual Garmin ?G5? And the vertical one-ontop-of-the-other arrangement basically matches what I have in the Aspen Pro.
    I do have synthetic vision and AoA on my Aspen, don’t know how that equivalent works on the Garmin side but those were not driving features for me.

    I also had an Aspen PFD unit go bad on me (apparently the sensor board is a know issue, airspeed incorrect and gets worse over time) and I had to pay to replace it with the Pro model, so consider that possibility when buying used Avionics.
     
  4. SamSES

    SamSES Ejection Handle Pulled

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2022
    Messages:
    166

    Display name:
    Sam G
    Unless it’s basically free I wouldn’t bother, aspens are junk, tons of YouTube video with their famous red X
     
  5. Martin Pauly

    Martin Pauly Line Up and Wait PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    689
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA

    Display name:
    Martin Pauly
    I very much disagree. Both companies make good EFIS units, and it's important to understand the differences when choosing between them.

    Nothing beats a Garmin PFD in terms of compatibility with other Garmin avionics - no surprise here. And the large screens are nice and easy to read.

    The Aspens win on dispatch reliability if you have at least a 2000 system. Any one broken item, and you are still legal to fly while waiting for repair or replacement. It makes more efficient use of screen real estate than the Garmin. On my 2500 system, I have more information in front of me at any one time than I would on a Garmin screen of similar size (and yes, it looks more cramped, because it is). It's more compatible with 3rd-party avionics and can be easier to install - this last bit may be N/A for a clean-sheet, all-new panel, but can make a noticeable difference in installation labor cost in some cases.

    - Martin
     
  6. midlifeflyer

    midlifeflyer Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    15,012
    Location:
    Chapel Hill NC

    Display name:
    Mark
    True, but It's hard to get away from the "my personal choices are perfect; if yours is different, you are an idiot or evil" attitude so prevalent these days.
     
  7. frfly172

    frfly172 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    15,516
    Location:
    mass fla

    Display name:
    ron keating
    I had the aspen pro in a liberty aircraft never had a bit of trouble with it. The unit was a2007. Sold the airplane in 2021 still working fine.
     
  8. Mongoose Aviator

    Mongoose Aviator Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2022
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    PA/VA

    Display name:
    Tim
    I would ask for a quote from your avionics installer for a used Aspen vs a "yellow tag" Aspen vs a new Aspen including equipment and labor - total quote.
    Given that the installation labor required is most likely the same regardless of the equipment, it is possible your preference over which route to go may be influenced by the Total Cost difference among the quotes.

    Everybody has their own unique financial situation. What works for one person may not work for another. What is reasonable for one may be unreasonable for another.

    100% agree and I could not be bothered to get into those sorts of arguments. I fly with Aspens and am glad to share my experiences with somebody who is interested. My Aspens are fully integrated with my Garmin equipment and my Auto-Pilot.
     
  9. Tom J

    Tom J Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2022
    Messages:
    21

    Display name:
    Tom J
    Aspen resells overhauled units, as well.
     
  10. 455 Bravo Uniform

    455 Bravo Uniform En-Route

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    4,796
    Location:
    KLAF

    Display name:
    455 Bravo Uniform
    I don’t have a dog in the fight, no Aspen or Garmin anything in my plane, but your info may be out-dated, anecdotal, absolute, and/or overly simplistic. I saw it on x pounds of YouTube vids…
     
  11. wheaties

    wheaties Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    405
    Location:
    NJ

    Display name:
    wheaties
    the non pro versions suffered from this. Something about the feed from the pitot tube or static air. I can't remember exactly. They fixed it only in the pro.
     
    ChopAndDrop likes this.
  12. ChopAndDrop

    ChopAndDrop Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    USA SouthEast

    Display name:
    ChopAndDrop
    ^ This sounds-like what happened to my old Aspen PFD (installed from the early days of Aspen, before there was a Pro model).

    The Airspeed sensor started acting strange, then was so far out of range it was unreliable. Avionics shop said they seen this alot with the old Aspens, something about “the sensor board” going bad.

    IMO The old Aspen costs more to fix than it’s worth (but supposedly it could be sent-in for repair).
    In our case, the fix was for us to upgrade and replace it with an Aspen Pro model
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2023 at 8:11 PM
  13. MajorTurbulence

    MajorTurbulence Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    483

    Display name:
    MajorTurbulence
    I have an Aspen PFD1000 Pro (circa 2010-11 install) and have not had a lick of trouble aside from when the paint shop messed up my external sensor, or the initial install a) where the incorrect resistor was used to hook up to my legacy autopilot causing abnormal gain, and b) the airspeed reading was not set to zero when in zero wind. But I am questioning this thread regarding whether people are talking about the “Pro” as the latest upgrade that uses the new screen technology and avoids the necessity to have a backup AI as part of the EFIS STC, or the “Pro” that I have, and have no interest in upgrading for the 2K? price- mine works just fine. I was not aware there may have been an earlier model that had wonky airspeed issues.
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2023 at 8:09 PM
  14. Mongoose Aviator

    Mongoose Aviator Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2022
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    PA/VA

    Display name:
    Tim
    I upgraded two older Aspens. EFD1000 Pro PFD (installed 2012) and E5 EFD (installed 2019). Now I have two new Pro Max PFD/MFD with new 2 year warranty and the full current software except for AOA which I did not opt-in for.

    The older devices were working fine as originally intended but when I found out the upgrade cost, I jumped. Sounded like a deal to me.
     
  15. ChopAndDrop

    ChopAndDrop Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    USA SouthEast

    Display name:
    ChopAndDrop
    I _did_ get the AoA upgrade on mine. honestly I have no ideas why it’s import or what I would ever use it for.
    They say “fly the blue doughnut” for best approach, but the purpose of my approach angle isn’t to make the AoA happy, it’s suppose to make me get to the Runway threshold.

    The wife’s not gonna be happy if I land in the trees or crash through the airport fence because “hey I was right-on the AOA doughnut the whole way down, why all the screaming and yelling ????”

    Now Synthetic Vision, on the other hand, love it. Especially dark or IMC near terrain.
     
    Mongoose Aviator likes this.