Aspen Evolution 1000 Pro MFD Chart Data

Colin G

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Colin G
I have a 1986 PA-46-310P Malibu that has an Aspen Evolution 1000 Pro Max PFD and Aspen Evolution 1000 MFD in it, which I am really enjoying, however getting those updated (when I bought the airplane they were current to 2016) has been an absolute nightmare.

The card that was in the MFD was corrupt, so it would not update from Jepp (for Terrain or NavData), or Seattle Avionics (for Chart Data).

I spoke to the Avionics department at Sun, and they helped me get the Jepp data updated by grabbing a new card and downloading the Jepp data to it -- even though all the documentation says that you cannot use your own card for, this, it seems to be untrue.

However, I have a subscription through Seattle Aviation for the Chart Data, and I've used the application to download all of the charts to my PC, although the application will not transfer the charts to the card as it says that the card is an "unknown region". Looking in the help files of the application (Seattle Avionics Chartdata Manager) it very clearly says that you cannot use your own card, you have to use a card that was supplied with the device. Here's the excerpt from the help file:

"The Evolution MFD stores these plates and airport diagrams on a special 16 GB microSD memory card supplied by Aspen. You cannot use your own microSD card. Your computer must have a built-in microSD slot (many new machines do) or an easy-to-find card reader connected via USB. Radio Shack sells just such a card reader for about $20. "

When I contacted Aspen, they told me that the card needs to come from Jepp or Seattle, when I contacted Seattle they told me that they are only responsible for the data, and not the card, so I'll have to contact Aspen. Aspen also told me that I could go through an Avionics shop, and they could get a new Aspen card, but the Avionics shop at Sun didn't seem like they were familiar with this at all.