Archer III start-up procedure

midlifeflyer

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Fly
I'm going to be flying an Archer III next week. Although I have plenty of PA-28 experience, I understand the III has a slightly different start-up procedure (as well as overhead switches) involving starting on one mag and then switching on the other after the start.

Can someone explain the full starting procedure it or provide a copy of the page out of the POH/PIM for the model?

Thanks.

Mark,

I did maybe 4-5 flights in a III last year. As far as I recall, the single mag start is the only difference. The airplane does not use a key for the starter, so the mags are individual switches.

Why start on only one set of mags? That's a new one to me.

I did maybe 4-5 flights in a III last year. As far as I recall, the single mag start is the only difference. The airplane does not use a key for the starter, so the mags are individual switches.
The Grumman series has a similar issue. Only one mag (the left, on the Grummans) has an impulse coupler, which retards the spark for starting. If you activate both mags during starting, the non-coupled mag will fire ahead of the coupled mag, and you have a good chance of a kickback which can trash the gear teeth on the starter and the ring gear. Planes with a unified start/mag switch have internal circuitry which grounds out the non-coupled mag when you turn the key to START. Planes with separate mag and start switches should be started with only the coupled mag activated; the other mag is activated after the engine starts.