Anyone's CFI putting an iPad on the yoke?

flhrci

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
David
I am just curious if anyone's CFI is doing this. I am thinking the full-size iPad for be too heavy especially for a Primary student, the mini might be to. It would give the student a fall sense of control forces I think. Now an instrument student it is probably more ok because of approach charts and such.

So, I think it is not a good idea. What about you all? The gates are open for opinions! lol

David

As an instructor, I don't mount anything anywhere. I carry my full-size iPad1 and use it as needed, stowing it when not in active use. Having flown with some folks with iPad Minis this year, I'm sold on that being the right size for light plane cockpit use, and when my iPad1 fully obsolesces, I'll get a Mini to replace it, but the difference isn't enough to switch until the limitations of iOS5 become unacceptable.

As for mounting an iPad on the yoke for your own use, I've had some trainees try that, but they all end up keeping it loose, laying it on their kneeboard or thigh when in use, and stowing it otherwise. It gets a bit harder to use there, and it can get a bit in the way, especially with the full-size iPads. That's still a personal decision, but try it with a few other people's different mounts before you spend the money on one of your own.

It makes it very difficult to read anything attached to the yoke that is constantly in motion, much less try and touch anything precisely on the screen while you're trying to "steer".

I never understood the yoke mount.

I yoke mount my mini and it works very well. No noticeable difference in control forces at all.

I have a yoke mounted iFly and is is no problem at all. Of the yoke is moving that much yo are manuvering and need not be reading the gps

I agree not to look at the iPad while maneuvering. I was more focusing on if it would mess up people learning to fly with the extra weight on there.

David