Anyone ever flown for the Civil Air Patrol?

DMD3.

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
DMD3.
For anyone who has ever flown for the Civil Air Patrol, what is it like flying for them?

Will they let you fly on the days that fit your schedule? (In my case, it'd be Fridays and Saturdays)

How much does it cost to fly for them at first?

Also, are the fees you'd pay them tax-deductible?

Yeeha. Let the beatdown commence. Seriously it is all local, there are paperwork hoops to jump through at all CAP squadrons, but the flying all depends on how 'aligned' with your personality the local CAP squadron is. The only way to know is to go visit and meet everybody, nothing we can tell you will help you make a reasonable decision without visiting.

Yes, I fly for CAP. I'm a Transport Mission Pilot, Mission Observer and Mission Scanner (plus a few base ratings).

There are some significant hoops to jump through. CAP is a big bureaucracy. But IMO it's worth it. Dry rates vary by wing (state), but are pretty reasonable (mine is $45/Hobbs hour). Air Force assigned missions are reimbursed, and this is explicitly allowed for private pilots (see 14 CFR 61.113(e)). Don't expect to just hop in and fly. It doesn't work that way. And if your goal is just to fly cheaply, it's not going to be worth it. Quite a bit of overhead and training. If the point really is to try to find lost aircraft and assist with natural disasters and other stuff, it's a lot more rewarding.

Visit your local squadron.

CAP is entirely volunteer, and will never force you to fly, ever. Even when in the air halfway to a search grid (RTB is an option for any crew member at any time). Having said that, if you expect all airplane crashes, floods, earthquakes, ELTs, etc. to go off only on Fridays and Saturdays, you might want to review your expectations.