Any underwriters here?

Chrisgoesflying

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Chrisgoesflying
I just recently (two months ago) renewed my full in-motion hull + liability insurance for my Piper Cherokee. I started plane window shopping and am now on the cusps of potentially buying a Piper Comanche 250 (fingers crossed all works out). I just checked insurance quotes (I'm a 400 hour Private Pilot with no retract or HP time) and received one that is a whopping $500 LESS than what I'm paying for my Cherokee despite the Comanche being insured at a higher hull value. Granted, it's with a different provider than who I am with right now, but still, even the current provider's quote was right about the same as I'm currently paying for the Cherokee. How is that even possible? I sure didn't accumulate that many hours in the past two months to warrant this.

Yeah that doesn't add up. But hey, if they're inattentive enough to bind you coverage at such a discount, your win. Don't be surprised for that to be corrected in future renewals though. Good luck.

Yeah, the Comanche should be significantly more than the Cherokee even at the same hull value because of the risk of a gear-up landing.

C.

Either that or you're paying way too much for your Cherokee.