Antidepressant question EMA

GeorgeU

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
GeorgeU
Hi everyone I’m new here. I am a sophomore in college and realized that what I want to do is fly. The college I’m looking at transferring to requires you to get medical certificate before being accepted. I am currently on Cymbalta. I know that is not approved by FAA. From my understanding I would need to discontinue use for two months for me to pass my medical? How would the EMA know that I’ve been on Cymbalta?

I'm not sure what EMA is, but the FAA will not issue you a medical if you are currently taking an antidepressant. There are four that can be approved under a special issuance, but it's not just a matter of switching to one of those. Whether discontinuing the antidepressant or not is SUFFICIENT to get issued depends on stuff you've not told us. Not only does the medical application ask about what you are CURRENTLY taking, it's also going to ask about doctor visits and the history in the path that led you to be taking the medication (at which point the medical examiner will certainly ask you if you were prescribed anything). If you try to lie about your history on the application, it's a federal CRIME. And they don't even need to start criminal proceedings to take away any certificates (medical or pilot) and hit you with civil penalties (fines) once they catch you out in your lie.

You should find a good HIMS AME and have a frank, pre-application discussion with the doctor. There are at least two on this board.

Google: 27 pilots indicted and
4 delta pilots indicted

....and see how falsifying is working out for them....

How would the EMA know that I’ve been on Cymbalta?

Assuming you meant AME, they will know because you are going to truthfully answer the questions on the medical history. Many of those questions begin with "Have you ever"

You're kinda stuck like chuck there.