Another Newbie "Hello"...

colomtnflyer

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
iAM in AK!
Hi- My name is Ric, and I'm a recovering ski instructor. (Hi, Ric!!):p

I discovered this site just a week or so ago, when I learned that my very good friend John Lancaster (fling wing) had been tragically killed in a helicopter crash on the Vermillion 200 platform in the GoM.

He and I had worked together for many years in the ski industry, and both of us shared a keen interest in flying. Just in the past several months, John and I had renewed our friendship when after more than 30 years in the ski industry, I left Colorado for the warmer climate of Houston.

I am an 2300 hr, ATP, CFII/MEI, Pt 135 Capt, and own a 1964 C310-I, which I keep in KCOS. I learned to fly in KCOS back in '89, and taught there from 2000 till 2006, doing it all, but specializing in Mtn Flying and IFT for the USAFA.

While teaching skiing during the winters and flying during the summers might seem an ideal existence, it is exactly that! An existence. So I threw caution to the wind, got a full time job flying for an incredible company which provides both Pro Pilot Pt 91 aircraft management and Pt 135 charter ops down here in KHOU.

I am loving life! And though I am still a very active member in the ski community (and on a very similar website as this- skiing related), I am fully embracing this new direction in my life. There is still so much I have to learn about flying.

But if there are any of you who need any info about the White Winter World (skiing, that is), please don't hesitate to ask! If I can't help you with an answer, I sure as heck know how to get it for you!

I'm glad to be here!

Last edited:
Welcome Ric and sorry about your friend!