An Almost Base-Final Turn Accident

U

Unregistered

I've had a few days to think about the chain of events and thought I'd share.

My passenger and I arrived at the airport later than I liked after dusk. I'm a night legal Private Pilot, so it was not an issue. Visibility was better than forecast, but it took some time to find better prevailing winds to make better groundspeed.

It has been awhile since my last night cross country and this trip was my first to the Class-D airport. The tower controller was helpful in adjusting the lighting to help distinguish my cleared runway from the many other surrounding lights and another nearby Class-D.

The return trip was just as uneventful, except knowing that home base may be challenging to find in night ground clutter, I task my passenger with helping to locate the field while I divert a little attention to GPS groundspeed vs. airspeed to help determine wind direction for landing. Radio chatter at a nearby Class-B is issuing instrument approach clearances to the south, but groundspeed indicates that my landing should be northbound. My passenger spots a landmark that I know well and I trace my eyes from there to locate home.

I attempt a straight-in approach to the north runway from 500' above pattern altitude and quickly realized that it's not going to work. A sidestep puts me on downwind for south landing 200' below pattern. Groundspeed confirms that I passed through a shear layer.

I raised the nose to attempt to get back to pattern altitude but didn't apply power as I'm now abeam the numbers. Stupidity is getting the better of me for not reconfiguring properly as I fight the aircraft to descend at target speed at a further reduced power setting. At target speed but still not in position vertically, I wait for timing to turn base and give 1st notch flaps.

I turn base and apply 2nd notch of flaps without reference to any instrumentation. My eyes are glued to the runway for over-concern of losing position and orientation.