Altimeter Read Backs, Yea or Nay?

labbadabba

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
labbadabba
Does it clog up the airwaves or do controllers want to hear us read back the altimeter setting?

As a pilot I read it back maybe half the time. I at least acknowledge it. When I don't read it back, never been told by ATC to read it back.

As a former controller, never once told a pilot to read back the altimeter if they omitted it. Only things I was concerned with were runway assigment, hold short instructions, vectors and altitude read backs.

Last edited:
Sometimes, other times I'll just acknowledge.

Only time I always read it back is when it's a large jump from my current setting.

I almost always read it back just out of habit, but it's pretty spurious. Most times (other than right before you start an approach) getting it wrong is going to be caught otherwise and it's really hard to get it wrong.

I read back, but without the call sign and omitting the leading digit, so it takes about the same as the call sign alone.
ATC: "Bugsmasher 78C, radar contact, 10 north of Podunk, altimeter 3015."
Me: "Zero-one-five."

I read back, but without the call sign and omitting the leading digit, so it takes about the same as the call sign alone.
ATC: "Bugsmasher 78C, radar contact, 10 north of Podunk, altimeter 3015."
Me: "Zero-one-five."

Really the minimum information that the controller wants to hear is at least reply with your ID. The "zero one five" isn't required from their end. Although I'd say the vast majority of controllers won't care.

I thought AIM calls for a readback. But it's been a while since I read that thick book.

Let's hear from the controllers! :)

It's not a required read back item in the .65. Initial check in with your altitude is only because ATC must validate your mode C.

I don't read it back unless I think I might have misunderstood it.