Alternatives to the 430?

onwards

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
onwards
I am just starting to learn about avionics, and of course the 430 ends up looking large as the "goto" option for a WAAS GPS.

However, it can't possibly be the only option. Right? at $13K installed, it seems like awfully pricey thing to stick in a $30K plane (or even a $60K one for that matter)

Are there cheaper alternatives for a moving map WAAS GPS that make more sense in smaller planes?

Are there cheaper alternatives for a moving map WAAS GPS that make more sense in smaller planes?
Not if you intend on using it for IFR. The 430W will be the budget go-to unit and really is pretty nice.

Like Jesse said. I think this is ther last year of production of the 430. You won't do much better than that. I assume that is the price installed with indicator. If so that is in the ballpark.

Just the box new is north of $8K. Antenna, indicator and install $13K will be in the ballpark. Might get it a little cheaper than $13K but if you fine one for $10K I would take it if I were you.

I love love love my 480 and I think you might too. It fits in the same space as a 430/430W, but the screen is higher resolution than the 530W! Full WAAS support including LPV approaches. Airways support is convenient. It can control a remote transponder -> more space saved in the panel. But mostly I just think the user interface design philosophy is better thought out than the 430/530s. The guys at UPSAT did a great job before Garmin bought them out. The softkeys make it much more sensible. The interface is different to the 430/530 and perhaps needs a little longer to get to grips with initially, but once you are using it it's extremely efficient.

Downside: no built-in terrain.