Airport Fees

dell30rb

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Ren
Is $20 a night tiedown fees for a publicly owned GA airport seem ridiculous? As a newer pilot I don't have much experience with these things. KMRH wants $20 a night and they'll waive a night if you buy 15 gal of gas.

I won't use 15 gallons flying there in a 152 (not even close). If I stay for a weekend the cost of my transportation goes up almost 50%.

Can anyone give me an idea or baseline of fees to expect when traveling around?

Thanks,
Ren

Is $20 a night tiedown fees for a publicly owned GA airport seem ridiculous? As a newer pilot I don't have much experience with these things. KMRH wants $20 a night and they'll waive a night if you buy 15 gal of gas.

I won't use 15 gallons flying there in a 152 (not even close). If I stay for a weekend the cost of my transportation goes up almost 50%.

Can anyone give me an idea or baseline of fees to expect when traveling around?

Thanks,
Ren
I don't think there is a baseline. Such a huge variety in fees and just depends on the airport. I have seen everything from a $500 landing fee (at KBOS) to lots of airports that do not charge for landing or tiedown. $20 a night seems slightly high (most that I have seen charge run from 5-15 a night), but I don't think it is unreasonable.

Unfortunately, the 152 doesn't help you much. 15 gallons to waive the fee is fairly reasonable for most planes.

I have found that most/many FBOs generally have a vague requirement for a fuel purchase. They may say "buy some" fuel. Ten gallons for a Cessna 172 usually satisfies them. But FBOs have to pay their bills too and if us poor pilots are too tight, the "free services" they provide may begin to dissappear. I kind of like those courtesy/crew/staff cars, or the free ride to the restaurant or hotels (and the return pickup service), and the free battery boosts in winter and the free advice and free coffee and cookies and bottled water etc.