Airplane cleaning products

Challenged

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
Challenged
Hi all, I'm a new Private Pilot (about 85 hours) and purchased a Cessna 152 that is in very nice condition about half way through my training. I don't regret the purchase at all, in fact if I had to do it again I probably would have bought it on day one instead.

I'm wondering what techniques/products others here use to keep their aircraft clean. I have typically been using a microfiber cloth to clean the leading edges and windshield after flight. While it works okay, it does require a good bit of elbow grease to keep clean and I was wondering if I was missing something that would make the task easier. I do fly off of a grass strip currently, so I imagine that makes my bug problem a little worse than for those flying off of asphalt.

So...do you have any products and/or techniques you can recommend to keep the exterior of my plane a bit more presentable? Thanks!

Last edited:
Lemon pledge takes the bugs off pretty good. You can also use a plastic scrapie thing to help get the baked on ones off your cowling. We wash and wax the Free Bird twice a year. You may have to do so more often depending on where you live.

Welcome to POA.

Lemon pledge takes the bugs off pretty good.
Welcome to POA.

+1 on Lemon Pledge, not only does it get the bugs off and makes them easier to get off next time, it leaves the plane smelling Lemony Fresh.

I use the credit card style hotel room keys for the really sticky bugs.

Wash-Wax-All is good stuff. It is a waterless 'wash' that comes in a gallon jug that you can use to refill a squirt bottle. Squirt it on, let it sit for a few seconds (or longer) on 'bad' areas then wipe off with a cloth.

A good coat of wax on the leading edges will make life much easier later in the year when bugs are flying. (This is coming from a guy that used to wash cropdusters during the summer - literally 1/4 - 1/2" of smashed-bug buildup on leading edges.)