Aerobatics training for Student Pilot?

Erice

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Erice
I am a high school teacher (not a CFI). One of my students is post-solo, but still working toward her PPL, and plans to finish before summer is over. She has expressed interest in doing some aerobatic training at some point, and seems pretty intent on it. She is seriously considering aviation as a career.

My question is: Do you think she should wait until she is further along in her training before she does some aerobatic flight training? Or should she take a few aerobatic lessons now before she completes her PPL? Would it be too much to take in while she is still learning the basics, or would it enhance her training?

All of her time thus far is in a Cessna 150.

I don't think that aerobatic training would be out of line for a post-solo student. It should give a very good command of a plane's envelope. Admittedly, she won't be doing the checkride in the same plane, but she should be much more comfortable.

Not a problem for someone who has the stomach for it. Make sure she doesn't suffer from vertigo (ver-did-de-erth-gh). My second lesson in my book reads; 'aileron rolls to the right, loops, and slow flight.'

Not a CFI either. My thinking would be spin training would be good during her student days but if it were me, I wouldn't spend the money on other aerobatics until after I had my certificate (unless of course, her Mom and Dad have plenty of cash!).

The earlier the better IMO. WWII pilots learned basic aerobatics during primary training. They definitely didn't go through their flying careers uncomfortable with stalls and terrified of spins. :)

The earlier the better IMO. WWII pilots learned basic aerobatics during primary training. They definitely didn't go through their flying careers uncomfortable with stalls and terrified of spins. :)

Couldn't-a said it better myself.

(but that's not saying much)