ADS-B editorial from OSH and Bad Elf unit review

denverpilot

Tied Down
Display Name

Display name:
DenverPilot
Just passing along...

I like the LCD status on the Bad Elf. Shame that Foreflight isn't supporting that unit (yet?).

Never liked (when playing with friend's external GPSs on iPad) that all they had for status was Das Blinkenlights and the need to switch to a proprietary App from whatever you were doing to see GPS constellation status, reception level/quality and the like.

http://www.mygoflight.com/aviationblog#ADSB

I am a new pilot, so I am confused by your post. Are you saying that bad elf does not work with Foreflight. I am considering bad elf or Dual.Thanks
Lynn

I am a new pilot, so I am confused by your post. Are you saying that bad elf does not work with Foreflight. I am considering bad elf or Dual.Thanks
Lynn

The GPS portion of the Bad Elf will work with Foreflight but the ADS-B will not. For ADS-B and Foreflight you'll need to buy the Stratus.

I have the Bad Elf Pro and it works perfectly with Foreflight. Having the LCD is also a huge plus! :)

I don't like Foreflight's proprietary stance on ADS-B and only allowing Stratus receivers. I think this will potentially bite them in the ass down the road. I was impressed with the Clarity receivers with AHRS and once we get ADS-B coverage in Denver I may have to spring for one of those (and probably switch to WingX at the same time).

I'm also not impressed with their single-sourced receiver decision and also WILL be buying something.

Just waiting on Rocky Mountain coverage (or reasonable partial coverage) like you.

It could be the end of a beautiful friendship, Foreflight. Get over your first girlfriend and move on. ;)

I have the Bad Elf Pro and it works perfectly with Foreflight. Having the LCD is also a huge plus! :)