ADD

U

Unregistered

My son, who is 17 and interested in earning his pilots license, was prescribed Concerta last year. He was tested by the doctor for ADD and ADHD and was NOT diagnosed with either. I think the doctor said he was borderline, but again the doctor said he was not ADD or ADHD. I'm almost certain the doctor would write a letter or provide documentation of same.

He was prescribed the Concerta on a "as you feel it is needed" basis. He takes it 4-5 times a week during week days and very rarely on weekends (only when he has a big test to study for). I'm a pilot, but my job moves us every 12-24 months, so I've never really developed a relationship with an AME (actually never thought about it until reading some of the advice dispensed here).

Any thoughts / direction appreciated.

I can't help. I started to post my feelings about doctors over prescribing these kind of drugs to kids, but after a few sentences, I suspected it might get me kicked off the boards.

I was diagnosed with adhd in 8th grade. By the time I graduated High School, I was taking Ritalin and a weak dosage of Paxil (an SSRI, but the doc said it should help with the ritalin):rolleyes2:. That fall, I started college, and didn't want to take any meds, so I stopped both, and nothing really jumped out at me to indicate a major change without the meds. I was also much more relaxed in general when college started, perhaps that had something to do with it. Maybe my brain "grew up" more, but either way, in my case FWIW, I call it a phase. Since then, theres been college, firefighting schools, military training, and commercial license under my belt with no help from add/adhd meds. I hope this helps...

I guess I'd first have to ask my doctor why he prescribed an ADD/ADHD medication when he specifically said there is no ADD/ADHD.

I think you might have an advantage with the "no diagnosis" statement, though. An AME will have to help work you through it.