Action Cam Tips

SixPapaCharlie

May the force be with you
Display Name

Display name:
Sixer
This is coming up frequently. I am not an expert but I have been hacking at this for about 4 years now.

This is my current kit

20211001_212846.jpg

Go Pro cameras have a lot of issues. I am moving away from them. I am friends with a few other folks that do this and I know a couple others that are moving away from them. I only got as high as a GoPro7 and I finally gave up. I hear the 9 is good and the 10 just came out but for 1/2 the price, I can get the DJI OSMO Action Cam

These things are $199. They are 4k have great image stabilization and the only issue I have had is in the Texas summer, they over heat in direct sunlight. They have a front screen which is nice and they are built tough.

20211001_212905.jpg

Osmo will work with the GoPro feet you probably already have. However, they come with their own as well that actually have a better locking mechanism in my opinion.

I hate moving cameras around and having to move suction cups around so I glued these metal plates to the feet and I got magnetic car cell phone mount and now I set the camera on the mount and the magnets are strong. If the angle is bad, its just a magnet so I twist it as necessary.

20211001_213439.jpg 20211001_213635.jpg

So the camera bolts to those mounts above and I just stick the base to these suction mounts
magwsm2-1000.jpg

What about Audio?

Go Pro requires this cable that costs a hundred bucks:
https://www.aircraftspruce.com/catalog/avpages/pa80s_hero5.php

With the OSMO, you use a $20 adapter and a $50 cable

https://amzn.to/3B5VaaN
https://www.amazon.com/Nflightcam-Smartphone-Aircraft-Audio-Cable/dp/B00HQMLFWC

20211001_212920.jpg

20211001_212944.jpg

You can use the audio adapter on the back, and plug in a charging brick (bottom) to extend recording time.

ALWAYS have 2 sources of audio. 1 will fail at some point and it will frustrate you.