A new first

bstratt

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Canuck
Don't often get to do something I've never done before, but went flying today and landed at an airport that reported NIL braking on the runway - it was sheet ice for about 75% of the length. Xwind was 10-20 degrees off and running 12-16kts. Came in with particular concentration on airspeed and was right on the numbers. Touched down lightly - no brakes - pulled the power and let the plane slow down using steering/rudder only for control. Then taxiied VERY slowly to the ramp (taxiway and ramp also ice covered). After refueling I couldn't do a runup - even with the brakes on full as soon as the rpm hit 1,500 the plane started sliding - I did my mag check at 1,200. Take off was a little touchy until I got enough airspeed for the rudder to be effective.

Neat to challenge your self again.

bstratt said:
Don't often get to do something I've never done before, but went flying today and landed at an airport that reported NIL braking on the runway - it was sheet ice for about 75% of the length. Xwind was 10-20 degrees off and running 12-16kts. Came in with particular concentration on airspeed and was right on the numbers. Touched down lightly - no brakes - pulled the power and let the plane slow down using steering/rudder only for control. Then taxiied VERY slowly to the ramp (taxiway and ramp also ice covered). After refueling I couldn't do a runup - even with the brakes on full as soon as the rpm hit 1,500 the plane started sliding - I did my mag check at 1,200. Take off was a little touchy until I got enough airspeed for the rudder to be effective.

A couple of years ago over at Dekalb airport I had a similiar expirience. A little scary, I kept thinking about bending the airplane and also looking foolish.

bstratt said: