A models

judypilot

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Judy Parrish
The quote that came up when I logged on this morning was "Never fly the A model of anything." I have to respectfully disagree. My airplane is an A model (C182A). I have a Toyota T100 from the first year they made them. They are both outstanding vehicles. My Cessna is one of the sweetest-flying airplanes I've ever had the privilege to control. I will never own another airplane. To me (and for my mix of missions, everything from flying all the way across this great country to landing on short strips in the mountains), it's the perfect airplane. My T100 has 158,000 of hard miles--I'm a geologist, and you wouldn't believe where I've taken it and how hard its frame, engine, and undercarriage have been abused--and it still runs like almost new, with a bare minimum of rattles and a good-looking and -running engine. Paint's a little milky after being parked in the Arizona sun for 8 years and spending lots of field hours in the sun, too, but that's about the only flaw.

So what's your experience with A models?

Judy

My S-2A is (so far) a great airplane. But I've only had it three months, so we'll see how it works in the long run.

My Honda Pilot (2nd year production) is a great car, but my 2nd year production Durango was the worst piece of crap I've ever owned, even worse than the Fiat I had in college -- and that's saying a LOT

My Archer is a 1976, the first year Piper produced the 180 hp with a tapered wing.

My car is a 2000 Boxster S, the first year Porsche produced the S.

I have no complaints with either.

Ken Ibold said:
but my 2nd year production Durango was the worst piece of crap I've ever owned, even worse than the Fiat I had in college -- and that's saying a LOT

OMG. Worse than a Fiat? (Fix it again Tony)

Anthony said:
OMG. Worse than a Fiat? (Fix it again Tony)