4 questions I am stumped on.

Tarheel Pilot

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Tarheel Pilot
Ok, I have three questions on my pre-solo exam that I am stumped on.

1. "Who has the final authority and responsibility for the operation of the aircraft when you are flying solo."

Now I would say I do, because I'm the only guy in the aircraft, but I am also a student pilot, and in the FAR regarding student pilots, I cannot be an PIC. So what is the correct answer?

2. "When practicing steep turns, stalls, and maneuvering during slow flight, the entry altitude must allow a recovering to be completed no lower than."

I am hesitant to say 500ft. Is that correct?

3. "The Maximum crosswinds component specified by your instructor for solo takeoffs and landings?"

Well my instructor (neither one of them) gave me a maximum crosswinds component, so am I susspose to go with the factory recommendation? I know it's in the POH.

4. "Can a student pilot request Special VFR clerance in class D airspace when visibility is less than 3 miles?

I am hesitant to say No, but I can't find anything in my student pilot book or FAR/AIM about this. Can anyone please explain this?

Any and all help is greatly appreciated. :)

1. You'll find the answer if you research three regs: 61.51(e)(4), 61.89(a), and 91.3.

2. It is spelled out in the specific maneuvers in the private pilot PTS. Check out This link for the answer if you don't have a copy.

3. If your instructor hasn't specified otherwise, put down the POH limits for now. But you'll definitely want to find a more specific answer from your instructor. I doubt he/she would allow you to go all the way to the limit right away.

4. Check out 61.89(a)(6). The special VFR stuff is 91.157.

C'mon, you didn't think I'd let you get by without a little research??

:D Good luck!

Ok, I have three questions on my pre-solo exam that I am stumped on.