1st plane

jw1441

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
jw1441
I am a beginner pilot- no private license yet.

I want a plane for monthly trips of 150 miles and will take longer trips ie 400 miles every other month.

Any thoughts re Cessna 172 versus Cessna 182 versus Piper Archer? Several people have said the 182 is too much plane for a beginner, therfore dangerous. Other friends said "you will hate a 172 with a 40mph headwind" therefore buy a 182 or equivalent.

There's no reason a new pilot can't successfully operate a 182. Just need a high-performance endorsement, which is not a big deal.

Gotta look at budget, how much useful load you need, what kind of speed you want to pay for and what kind of weather conditions you want to travel in to decide what the right aircraft is...

thank you

my budget is about 80k

I will not be hauling much - me and wife with 2 suitcases at most

I don't see me ever needing to fly in inclement weather, but would like to be able to fly in clouds.

I live in Kansas- the farthest I would want to fly regularly is about 400 naut miles.

thank you

my budget is about 80k

I don't see me ever needing to fly in inclement weather, but would like to be able to fly in clouds.

I live in Kansas- the farthest I would want to fly regularly is about 400 naut miles.

Of course if you want to fly in clouds, you'll need an instrument rating...

You can find a good IFR-equipped 182 for substantially less than 80k.

There are a lot of 172s out there, too. Slower and not as good a climber as a 182, but lower acquisition and operating cost. A 172 with a 180 HP conversion climbs quite a bit better than a stock 150 HP one, but is still slower than a 182. Depends on how big a hurry you're in to get somewhere.

Just a suggestion - before you commit to buy, make sure your spouse is really comfortable in a small general aviation plane. Maybe have her ride along when you do a cross-country with your instructor.

Which part of KS, JW?