Pilots of America Message Board

Home Live Chat
Go Back   Pilots of America Message Board > Controlled Airspace > Flight Following

Flight Following Got a general question to ask or aviation topic to discuss? Establish contact here!

Old September 26th, 2008, 09:54 PM   #1
(User ID: Rob Schaffer)
Cleared for Takeoff

DUAT or DUATS,.... usage tips requested.

Well, as a student I didn't have access to the DUAT(s) system as my medical certificate was on file but not my student certificate. I sent in my information, but due to the pace of my training and the delay on their end, I didn't get in the system in time to use during my training.

So, here I am now as a PP, and I have access to DUATS. What is the difference, if any, between DUAT and DUATS access websites?

Any tips on using DUATS? I'm still exploring a little bit with the interface and I just downloaded the AOPA Real-Time Flight Planner as well.
Tailweel Endorsement => May 2010
Spin Training => June 2010
Rob Schaffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2008, 09:58 PM   #2
KennyFlys

Re: DUAT or DUATS,.... usage tips requested.

I prefer DTC DUAT but because it worked better for me at slower bandwidth on aircards while mobil. It also works on my PDA.

The latter may be on DUATS by now, I don't know.
Old September 26th, 2008, 10:37 PM
Posted in reply to KennyFlys's post "Re: DUAT or DUATS,.... usage tips..."
(User ID: flyersfan31)
Touchdown! Greaser!

I've used both, and prefer DUATS, but that may be because I started with it, so I'm more used to it. User interfaces on both leave something to be desired. Frankly, DUAT may be more user friendly but, as I say, I kinda stick with what I know. At the end of the day, they both have the same information, it's just a matter of presentation.

States I have flown to:
flyersfan31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2008, 11:00 PM   #4
(User ID: AWACSEng)
Position and Hold