PDA

View Full Version : Canada - flying to vs flying through?


EdFred
May 16th, 2005, 09:40 AM
What is needed to fly across Canada? From say IAG back to Michigan? Do I need to get the radio operator's license to cross Canadian airspace, or do I only need it if I plan on landing there? Customs issues for crossing?

bstratt
May 16th, 2005, 09:44 AM
I don't believe you need anything other than to be on a flight plan, IFR works great.

BruceAir
May 16th, 2005, 09:51 AM
If you're an AOPA member, check out the following information:

Canadian Flight Information (http://www.aopa.org/members/files/travel/canada/index2.html)
Due to recent confusion on what types of flight plans are required for flights to, from, and within Canada, NAV CANADA has provided the following explanation...
http://www.aopa.org/members/files/t...ada/index2.html (http://www.aopa.org/members/files/travel/canada/index2.html)

You can find additinional information about international flights on AOPA's Web site at:

http://www.aopa.org/members/resourc...ernational.html (http://www.aopa.org/members/resources/international.html)

bstratt
May 16th, 2005, 09:53 AM
Bruce, I could be wrong about this, but I seem to recall reading somewhere that overflights, i.e. departure and arrival airports within the US with no stops in Canada, did not need to file the international flight plan form and were handled via an accomodation with the US and Canada.

gismo
May 16th, 2005, 10:12 AM
I don't believe you need anything other than to be on a flight plan, IFR works great.

That's always worked for me. There's certainly no customs involvement. And while technically you probably need an aircraft station radio license, it's pretty unlikely that ATC will require you to fax a copy from the plane. Prior to 9/11 I don't think you even needed to file as long as you didn't land in Canada.

gismo
May 16th, 2005, 10:25 AM
Bruce, I could be wrong about this, but I seem to recall reading somewhere that overflights, i.e. departure and arrival airports within the US with no stops in Canada, did not need to file the international flight plan form and were handled via an accomodation with the US and Canada.

You need to be on a flight plan, but AFaIK you can file a normal US VFR or IFR one and put "Canadian overflight" in the remarks.

BruceAir
May 16th, 2005, 10:34 AM
From http://www.aopa.org/members/files/travel/canada/can02.html: Overflight

U.S. and Canadian Customs regulations permit aircraft to overfly the respective countries and return to the original country of departure without reporting to Customs. Examples of this might be a flight from Detroit to Buffalo or St. John's to Montreal, during which you overfly foreign territory but do not land. A VFR or IFR flight plan is required for every flight crossing the U.S./Canada border. A notation of "Canadian or U.S. Overflight, No Landing" is recommended in the "Remarks" block of the flight plan form.

You will also have to comply with the U.S. requirement for a Mode A and C transponder (or a waiver) and for prior contact with a U.S. ATC facility prior to crossing the border. Failure to do this will likely result in interception.


It's a good idea to review all the information available at the AOPA site (http://www.aopa.org/members/files/travel/canada/index2.html) (http://www.aopa.org/members/files/travel/canada/index2.html%29), which has links to many other resources.


You should also review the information available at:


http://www.faa.gov/ats/aat/ifim/ifim3tc.htm

Let'sgoflying!
May 16th, 2005, 08:22 PM
Have you seen similar wording for Mexico? (there is the adiz line there)

SkyHog
May 16th, 2005, 09:12 PM
Have you seen similar wording for Mexico? (there is the adiz line there)

I'm sure its different, there is an ADIZ on the southern border, but not on the northern border.

Big Bird
May 16th, 2005, 09:49 PM
What is needed to fly across Canada? From say IAG back to Michigan? Do I need to get the radio operator's license to cross Canadian airspace, or do I only need it if I plan on landing there? Customs issues for crossing?

ARROW.
A discreet squawk code.
VFR or IFR flight plan.

I don't think you need the radio license if you are not going to land in Canada.

Your flight plan may include your pax info.

No customs issues if you file to transit the airspace and do not land.

Big Bird
May 16th, 2005, 09:51 PM
Have you seen similar wording for Mexico? (there is the adiz line there)

Mexico is a whole different ballgame.

T Bone
May 17th, 2005, 11:44 AM
What is needed to fly across Canada? From say IAG back to Michigan? Do I need to get the radio operator's license to cross Canadian airspace, or do I only need it if I plan on landing there? Customs issues for crossing?

Ed, FWIW. I just got my FCC license. Only took about a week to get here, after ordering on the web. Cost $55 and lasts for life (don't lose it, replacement costs... you guessed it, $55!).

Thing is, now I'm not sure I'll use it anytime soon.... I was unaware of the requirement for a station license for the plane, and being a renter, I fly different planes alot....