Cholesterol, do I need to pick up smokin' and drinkin,??

Zeldman

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Billy
So I was talking to my PCP today on my blood work last week. Seems I have cholesterol problems.

My LDL is low. I think that is good. I understand that high levels of LDL can lead to heart disease and stroke.

My HDL is also low. I understand this actually needs to be higher to help reduce risk of heart disease and stroke.

My Triglycerides is also low. If I understand correctly that is good. I understand that high Triglycerides can contribute to problematic cholesterol buildup in the body.

She says my cholesterol levels are too low, almost dangerously low.

Can having total low cholesterol be a bad thing?

How do I raise the good cholesterol without raising the bad?

I recently let fly at my internist who wants to treat me to toxicity with statins. I have a normal profile.
It was the Foghorn Leghorn Thing. Remember I was a professor long ago. "I say, I say, What EXACTLY is your longevity evidence for wanting to do a thing like that? Where is your survival data".

I think it's fine to tinker with the profile if the family history isn't good, if the HDL is low....but there is still, no evidence for outcome differences!

How low? "Low" according to average ranges isn't really low in my opinion. I look at HDL as the stuff your body makes to mop up the excess LDL, so being low could be a good indication. If LDL is below 70 and triglycerides below 80, a low HDL (30 to 40) is probably about right in my experience. It won't stop heart disease, though. At least not mine. So, I've added omega 3s in the form of salmon several times per week and small amounts of red meat. I get an annual omega 3 test here, too: https://omegaquant.com/